Skip to main content


University of the Cumberlands is  accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award associate, baccalaureate, masters, education specialist and doctorate degrees. Initial accreditation date was 1964. Recent reaffirmation date was December 2016. Next reaffirmation date is Class of 2026. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097 or call 404.679.4500 for questions about the accreditation of University of the Cumberlands. View the current status of University of the Cumberlands on the SACCOC website.

University of the Cumberlands is a private, faith based institution that is governed by a Board of Trustees.  The Board is formed by highly esteemed individuals from around the state of Kentucky and the United States. University of the Cumberlands complies with all applicable federal and state non-discrimination statutes and does not engage in prohibited discrimination on the basis of race, color, nationality, ethnic origin, sex, age, handicap or genetic information.  The University may discriminate on the basis of religion in any position of employment in order to fulfill its purpose.

University of the Cumberlands’ Education programs are further state accredited through Kentucky's Educational Professional Standards Board (EPSB), 100 Airport Road, 3rd Floor, Frankfort, KY 40601, Phone: 502.564.4606, Fax: 502.564.7080.

The RN-BSN degree program at University of the Cumberlands is accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education , 655 K Street, NW, Suite 750, Washington, DC 20001, 202-887-6791. 

Current President is

Larry Cockrum
University of the Cumberlands
6178 College Station Drive
Williamsburg, Kentucky 40769