Faculty

Dr. Laura Bonzo-Sims Associate Professor
Office:Available by appointment only
Phone:859.229.2548
Email:laura.sims@ucumberlands.edu

Read Biography


Dr. Joyce Bowling Associate Professor of Education
Office:Luecker Building 118
Phone:606.539.4554
Email:joyce.bowling@ucumberlands.edu

Read Biography


Ms. Bonnie Butcher Assistant Professor
Office:Luecker Building 117
Phone:606.539.4560
Email:bonnie.butcher@ucumberlands.edu

Read Biography


Dr. Jennifer Chambers Assistant Professor / Literacy Specialist Coordinator
Office:Luecker 120
Phone:606.539.4078
Email:jennifer.chambers@ucumberlands.edu

Read Biography


Dr. Linda Cox-Story Assistant Professor; Chair, Undergraduate Studies; Coordinator, Special Education Programs
Office:Luecker Building 106
Phone:606.539.4518
Email:linda.story@ucumberlands.edu

Read Biography


Dr. Jason Creekmore Assistant Professor
Office:Luecker Building 223B
Phone:606.539.4433
Email:jason.creekmore@ucumberlands.edu

Read Biography


Dr. Shannon Deaton Dean, School of Education
Office:Luecker Building, Room 107
Phone:606.539.4660
Email:shannon.deaton@ucumberlands.edu

Read Biography


Ms. Alexandria Deaton Assistant Professor
Office:Luecker Building 116
Phone:606.539.4433
Email:alexandria.deaton@ucumberlands.edu

Read Biography


Ms. Deborah Dobson Field and Clinical Services
Office:Luecker Building 224
Phone:606.539.4433
Email:deborah.dobson@ucumberlands.edu

Read Biography


Dr. Karen Goldman Associate Professor
Office:Luecker Building 114
Phone:606.539.4433
Email:karen.goldman@ucumberlands.edu

Read Biography

Karen M. Goldman works professionally as an educator and artist. Dr. Goldman teaches education classes at the University of the Cumberlands. Recently her artwork appeared at the University of Tennessee Downtown Gallery, the Knoxville Museum of Art and the Watkins School of Art and Design in Nashville. She currently serves as the East Tennessee Chair for the National Art Education Association. Prior to this position with the University of the Cumberlands, Dr. Goldman was a principal as well as teacher for Knox County Schools where additional duties included Professional Development classes at the Sarah Simpson Center and as a Mentoring Teacher with the Teacher Advancement Program.

As a published author in the area of creativity, she is an award winning art educator, and a popular presenter at various research associations and professional in-services specializing in Differentiated Instruction and Multiculturalism. Her Ph.D. in Education includes a cognate in Cultural Studies an interdisciplinary field that explores the role of social institutions in the shaping of culture. Adding to the theories of aesthetics, Dr. Goldman explored her own theory, The Web of Betweeness, which explores the concept of power emitted through creative and imaginative thought.

Other degrees held are the Education Specialist degree in School Administration and Supervision, both the M.S. and B.S. degrees in Art Education from the University of Tennessee and Arrowmont School of Design and Craft. Dr. Goldman developed and administered educational programs from Eastern Tennessee into the Cumberland Plateau of Appalachia to reach a variety of learners including special needs, low SES, and artistically gifted.


Pages