maincurve UC Library MyUC iLearn Webmail Home
title Media Relations Home



UC Inducts 2011 Alumni Hall of Honor Recipients


Williamsburg, Ky. – University of the Cumberlands (UC) hosted their annual Homecoming Alumni Dinner on Saturday, October, 29th in the Boswell Campus Center (BCC) located on the UC campus. During this time the inductions of new members to the Alumni Hall of Honor took place.

The 2011 class of inductees were Dr. H. Dean Haun, Religious Service Award, ’77; David L. Jones, Alumnus of the Year, ’79; Tony Wilburn, Distinguished Alumni Award, ’79; Jerry Barker, Young Alumnus of the Year, ’96; and Jerry and Carla Neeley, Honorary Alumni Award.

Dr. Haun (Knoxville, TN) was graduated from UC, formerly known as Cumberland College, with a Bachelor of Arts in Religion and Pastoral Counseling. He later went on to earn a Master of Divinity with Preaching Emphasis from Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary in 1981 and a Doctor of Ministries, Expository Preaching, from Trinity Theological Seminary in 1998. Dr. Haun has been a pastor for 32 years and currently is the Senior Pastor at First Baptist Church in Morristown, TN.

Mr. Jones (Chicago, IL) arrived at Cumberland in ’76 on a basketball scholarship and attended school for three years. Upon his departure, Mr. Jones moved to Jacksonville, FL where he obtained a transportation degree. In 1986, he started his own trucking company that he eventually sold to Toyota Tsusho America. Currently, he is the President and Chief Operating Officer of the company.

Mr. Wilburn (Somerset, KY) was recruited to play basketball at Cumberland and was a member of the Indians squad for four years. He was graduated with a Bachelor of Science degree in Accounting and Business Administration. He later went on to earn his Certified Public Accountant degree and practiced as a CPA for twenty years. Currently, he is a joint partner with his brother in D.W. Wilburn Construction, Woodstock Holding Company, and other businesses.

Mr. Barker (Gretna, VA) graduated with a Bachelor of Science degree in Biology with a minor in chemistry. In 2004, he founded Ocular Systems in Winston Salem, NC, an independent firm specializing in the processing and delivery of corneal tissue for transplantation. He has been an Emergency Medical Technician in the Commonwealth of Virginia since 1991 and has held Certified Eye Bank Technician credentials through the Eye Bank Association of America since 1998.

Mr. and Mrs. Neeley have been huge assets to UC over the years. Mr. Neeley currently serves as a member of the County Office Committee (COC) at Jackson Farm Service Agency and the Kentucky Association of Academics (KAAC) Board. Mrs. Neeley currently works for James River Coal Company as a Quality Analyst. They have been supporters of the UC Tennis team as they built the new elevated wooden deck for viewing and helped put in wooden benches on the courts for players to rest on.

Do you know a Cumberland alumnus who has produced significant achievements in his or her vocation? Take a moment to recommend alums that have made commitments to Cumberland as a board member, volunteer, missionary, or in other ways conducive to promoting Cumberlands mission.

The University of the Cumberlands Alumni Board is accepting nominations for the annual Hall of Honor Awards that include Distinguished Alumni, Alumni Appreciation, Religious Service, and Outstanding Young Alumni.

Awards are presented annually during the Alumni Dinner on the Saturday evening of Alumni & Family Weekend. Nominations must be received by the Office of Alumni Services no later than July 31st of each year for consideration by the Alumni Board’s Awards Committee. All nominations will be considered active for a three (3) year period. The committee may request follow-up information for any nomination. The committee reserves the right to present any or all awards during a particular year.

Located in Williamsburg, KY, University of the Cumberlands is an institution of regional distinction, which currently offers four undergraduate degrees in more than 40 major fields of study; nine pre-professional programs; nine graduate degrees, including two doctorates, a specialist, and six master’s degrees; certifications in education; and online programs.