maincurve UC Library MyUC iLearn Webmail Home
title Media Relations Home



UC Hosts Annual Alumni Dinner during Homecoming


Williamsburg, Ky. – University of the Cumberlands (UC) hosted their annual Homecoming Alumni Dinner on Saturday, October, 29th. The dinner, held in the Boswell Campus Center (BCC), featured keynote speaker Retired Colonel Mike Farley.

Colonel Farley, class of '89, reflected back on his time at UC and his service in the army. “I have a lot of fond memories from this university,” he shared. “I try to share the gifts God has provided me with.”

The evening also featured inductions of new members into the Alumni Hall of Honor. The 2011 class of new inductees included Dr. H. Dean Haun, Religious Service Award (’77); David L. Jones, Alumnus of the Year (’79); Tony Wilburn, Distinguished Alumni Award ('79); Jerry Barker, Young Alumnus of the Year ('96); Jerry and Carla Neeley, Honorary Alumni Award.

The UC Student Government Association (SGA) also presented the Honored Professor Awards to Dr. Bob Dunston, Chair of Religion Department, and Ms. Jane Carter, Professor in the Business Department. The purpose of the Honored Professor Award is to recognize professors that have devoted their time and energy into improving the quality of education and life on the University of the Cumberlands campus. These professors have displayed high levels of Christian values and have proven that they possess a genuine interest in working with students on a personal level.

Also taking place during the dinner was the announcement from David Bergman, Alumni Director, that Mrs. Susan Bradley ('98) had been elected as the Alumni President. She will be taking over for past President Rich Prewitt.

An enjoyable night to wrap up Homecoming events, the Alumni Dinner is held annually during UC’s Homecoming and Family Weekend.

Located in Williamsburg, Ky., University of the Cumberlands is an institution of regional distinction, which currently offers four undergraduate degrees; more than 40 major fields of study; nine pre-professional programs; seven graduate degrees, including a doctorate and six master’s degrees; certifications in education; and online programs.