maincurve UC Library MyUC iLearn Webmail Home
title Media Relations Home



UC's Sigma Beta Delta Inducts New Members


Members of the Sigma Beta Delta enjoy dinner during their induction ceremony held at the Cumberland Inn

Williamsburg, Ky. – On Thursday, November 3rd, University of the Cumberlands (UC) Hutton School of Business (HSB) National Honor Society Sigma Beta Delta hosted their 6th annual induction ceremony at the Cumberland Inn.

Guest speaker for the event was Amanda Farris who is a graduate of UC with a Bachelor of Science in Accounting (2008) and a Masters of Business Administration (MBA) in 2010. Currently, Ms. Farris lives in Corbin, KY and works as an accountant for South East Kentucky Rehabilitation Industries. She talked on some of her experiences while pursuing her degree and offered words of praise towards the students for their dedication.

In all 18 students were inducted into the Honors Society for their academic achievements and hard work. Students inducted into Sigma Beta Delta include: Alana Abbot (Lebanon, OH); Zachary Barkett (Woodbridge, VA); Camden Bonardi (Springboro, OH); E. Nicole Braden (Powell, TN); Laura Brock (London, KY); Pedro Costa (Belo Horizonte, Brazil); Jayna Farris (Corbin, KY); Caleb Hetrick (Richmond, KY); Eric Hodgson (Canton, GA); Richard Mack (Williamsburg, KY); Amanda Maggard (Corbin, KY) Estella Phillips (East Bernstadt, KY); McKenzie Price (Somerset, KY); J. Clark Stepp (Pippa Passes, KY); Richard Taylor (Corbin, KY); W. Gayle Troxell (Corbin, KY); and Rebecca Watkins (Williamsburg, KY). Each student was rewarded a certificate of induction.

The Sigma Beta Delta International Honor Society for Business, Management and Administration chapter was established in December 2006. The purposes of Sigma Beta Delta are to encourage and recognize scholarship and achievement among students of business, management and administration, and to encourage and promote personal and professional improvement and a life distinguished by honorable service to humankind.

Located in Williamsburg, Ky., University of the Cumberlands is an institution of regional distinction, which currently offers four undergraduate degrees; more than 40 major fields of study; nine pre-professional programs; seven graduate degrees, including a doctorate and six master’s degrees; certifications in education; and online programs.