maincurve UC Library MyUC iLearn Webmail Home
title Media Relations Home



Cumberlands Honors Sixty-Two Hutton Scholars

Williamsburg, Ky. – On Saturday, May 5th, University of the Cumberlands (UC) recognized 62 undergraduate students as being Hutton Scholars during their annual commencement ceremony in the O. Wayne Rollins Center.

The Hutton Leadership and Community Service Program is a four-phase program providing leadership training and community service opportunities for UC students.

The requirement for undergraduate graduation includes the completion of the UC Insights program during the first semester of enrollment, the successful completion of the leadership seminar, and a minimum of 40 hours of community service following the seminar.

Students participating in the optional fourth phase of community service, performing a minimum of 200 hours of community service, are then named Hutton Scholars.

The class of 2012 contributed a total of 28,457 hours of service to their communities which is equivalent to 3,557 work days and 711 work weeks. At minimum wage, this year’s Hutton Scholars contributed $206,313.25 in service to the communities.

The Hutton Scholars are: Joshua Beck (Oak Ridge, TN), Brooke Bennett (Forest Hill, MD), Ryan Bennett (Winchester, KY), Emily Boggs (Baxter, KY), James Brock (London, KY), Alyssa Burke (Corbin, KY), April Chesnut (Orlando, KY), Franzeya Childress (Brodhead, KY), Allen Clark (Shelbyville, KY), Jared Coleman (Jacksonville, FL), Adam Craig (Winchester, KY), Erin Cundiff (Williamsburg, KY), Hillary Davis (Rockholds, KY), Courtney Fout (Miamisburg, OH), Jennifer George (Andersonville, TN), Kristin Gotch (Shelley, ID), Matthew Hale (Amelia, OH), Amber Hamilton (Corbin, KY), Charles Hatmaker West Somerset, KY), Jonathan Heck (Harlan, KY), Chelsea Hill (Lake City, TN), Gregory Hummel (Rockholds, KY), Nicklaus Jones (Fort Myers, FL), Lauren Kachel (Pickerington, OH), Emily Kerber (Lima, OH), Andrew Kiser (Ashland, KY), Stephanie Lawless (Corbin, KY), John Leistner (Ashland, KY), William Marshall (Lynch, KY), Mallory Mathena (Latonia, KY), Megan Matthews (Knoxville, TN), Kendra McCollum (Paint Lick, KY), Robert Miller (Largo, FL), Krystyna Napier (London, KY), Jerrid Neeley (Annville, KY), Donte Paul (Cave City, KY), Michelle Pratt (Russell Springs, KY), Joshua Prewitt (Williamsburg, KY), Elizabeth Rasper (Waynesville, OH), Samantha Robb (Louisville, KY), Amy Roberts (Winchester, KY), Carolyne Roop (Knoxville, TN), Kendra Sammons (East Point, KY), Shannon Schaffer (Fairfield, OH), Clayton Sewell (Corbin, KY), Amanda Silva (Turlock, CA), Alicia Smith (Williamsburg, KY), Katherine Smith, Sarah Specht (Alexandria, KY), Sarah Sutherland (London, KY), Meghan Swope (Wilmington, OH), Jill Tanner (Richmond, KY), Georgette Vanover (Williamsburg, KY), Laura Vater (Alexandria, KY), Anya Venn (Knoxville, TN), Jody Walls (Livingston, KY), Stephanie Watts (Middleburg, KY), Allie Williams (Liberty, KY), Jessica Wimmers (Bellevue, KY), Victoria Wright (London, KY), Susanna Wyatt (Williamsburg, KY), and Ashley Zamalloa (Las Vegas, NV).

The late Dr. Edward L. Hutton established himself in the business world and became known throughout the world for his exemplary leadership abilities. Dr. Hutton provided support for the leadership and community service program since its inception and was the most vocal cheerleader in UC’s efforts to provide practical training for students.

Located in Williamsburg, KY, University of the Cumberlands is an institution of regional distinction, which currently offers four undergraduate degrees in more than 40 major fields of study; nine pre-professional programs; seven graduate degrees, including a doctorate and six master’s degrees; certifications in education; and online programs.