maincurve UC Library MyUC iLearn Webmail Home
title Media Relations Home



Political commentator speaks at UC leadership event


Williamsburg, Ky. - Political commentator and psychiatrist Dr. Charles Krauthammer spoke to several thousand people yesterday, April 9, at University of the Cumberlands (UC). The lecture topic, part of the Forcht Group of Kentucky Center for Excellence in Leadership series, was “Ethical Leadership.”

Krauthammer shared his opinion on difficult decisions that leaders must make, and showing respect for those whose ideals differ from your own. Interspersing humor with soberness, Krauthammer received a warm response from the crowd.


Before he spoke, Krauthammer assisted UC president Dr. Jim Taylor in presenting leadership awards to area leaders. The following were awarded plaques for their excellence in ethical leadership: Sara Beth Gregory, State Senator; Stephen R. Hall, Ph.D., Commissioner for Department for Behavioral Health, Developmental & Intellectual Disabilities for the CHFS; Joseph Daniel Jones, Executive Director of the Cumberland River Regional Mental Health and Mental Retardation Board, Inc.; Owen T. Nichols, President and CEO of the Northern Kentucky Mental Health-Mental Retardation Regional Board; Albert Robinson, State Senator; Robert Stivers, State Senator.

The annual lecture series is made possible by an endowment from local business owners Drs. Terry and Marion Forcht, who founded the Forcht Group of Kentucky Center for Excellence in Leadership in 2006. The purpose of the Center is to provide programs and activities that enhance the development of leadership, character and good citizenship. Past speakers in the series have included Roy Moore, Zell Miller, Stephen Covey, Ben Stein, Karl Rover, Mike Huckabee and Rudy Giuliani.

Located in Williamsburg, Ky., University of the Cumberlands is an institution of regional distinction, which currently offers four undergraduate degrees in more than 40 major fields of study; nine pre-professional programs; twelve graduate degrees, including two doctorate, two specialist and eight master’s degrees; certifications in education; and online programs.