maincurve UC Library MyUC iLearn Webmail Home
title Media Relations Home



Cumberlands Honors Sixty-Four Hutton Scholars

Williamsburg, Ky. – On Saturday, May 4th, University of the Cumberlands (UC) recognized 64 undergraduate students as being Hutton Scholars during their annual commencement ceremony in the O. Wayne Rollins Center.

The Hutton Leadership and Community Service Program is a four-phase program providing leadership training and community service opportunities for UC students.

The requirement for undergraduate graduation includes the completion of the UC Insights program during the first semester of enrollment, the successful completion of the leadership seminar, and a minimum of 40 hours of community service following the seminar.

Students participating in the optional fourth phase of community service, performing a minimum of 200 hours of community service, are then named Hutton Scholars.

The class of 2013 contributed a total of 30,198 hours of service to their communities which is equivalent to 3,775 work days and 755 work weeks. At minimum wage, this year’s Hutton Scholars contributed $218,935 in service to the communities.

The 2013 Hutton Scholars are: Megan Adams (London, KY), Hannah Adkisson (Brodhead, KY), Kelly Allen (Barbourville, KY), LaTisha Armstrong (Bidwell, OH), Annie Bailey (Harlan, KY), Brandy Balkenbusch (Pocahontas, IL), Jeffrey Barnett (Corbin, KY), Samantha Begley (Beavercreek, OH), Jaimie Bengie (Williamsburg, KY), Roxanne Blakenship (Scottsville, KY), Allyson Blessman (Walsenburg, CO), Jordan Bridges (Williamsburg, KY), Megan Brown (Foster, KY), Garth Bustle (London, KY), Ashley Campos (Katy, TX), Erica Christian (London, KY), Samantha Clark (Owenton, KY), Ashleigh Collard (Shepherdsville, KY), Kelsey Day (Cumberland, KY), Miranda Deaton (East Bernstadt, KY), Kelsey Dew (Clinton, TN), Lauren Diehl (Williamsburg, KY), Justin Dyer (Woodburn, KY), Kathleen Edwards (Calhoun, GA), Callie Ethington (Bardstown, KY), Megan Fischer (Miamisburg, OH), Loren Forgety (Clinton, TN), Jennifer Fuson (Frakes, KY), Allison Greenwell (Louisville, KY), Jamie Hamilton (Somerset, KY), Jeremy Heming (Bowling Green, KY), Caleb Hetrick (Richmond, KY), Gabriella Hodges (London, KY), Brittany Holliman (East Point, KY), Samuel Huntley (Littleton, CO), Donovan Jacques (Williamsburg, KY), Sarah Jacques (Williamsburg, KY), Danielle Keith (Morrow, OH), Cody Kirby (London, KY), Mary Lee (Wallins, KY), Kirby Lewis (Lexington, KY), Rachel Logan (Morehead, KY), Jared Martin (Corbin, KY), Raul Maya (Dry Ridge, KY), Raymond McGhee (LaFollette, TN), Whitney Minton (London, KY), Vernisha Moss (Nassau, Bahamas), Matthew Mountjoy (Williamsburg, KY), Cedric Muteshi (Nairobi, Kenya), Sydney Nelson (Glen Saint Mary, FL), Katherine Osborne (Lexington, KY), Michael Perkins (Georgetown, KY), Kallye Renner (Cincinnati, OH), Kevin Rybicki (Carroll, OH), Susan Stephenson (Hamilton, OH), Brittany Strong (Lexington, KY), Mark Watts (Williamsburg, KY), Brittany Weinheimer (City View Heights, OH), Russell Whitaker (Salyersville, KY), Laura Wilson (Cincinnati, OH), Lauren Wombles (London, KY), Sylvania Wright (Waynesburg, KY), and Susannah Zawko (London, KY).

The late Dr. Edward L. Hutton established himself in the business world and became known throughout the world for his exemplary leadership abilities. Dr. Hutton provided support for the leadership and community service program since its inception and was the most vocal cheerleader in UC’s efforts to provide practical training for students.