maincurve UC Library MyUC iLearn Webmail Home
title Media Relations Home



National Mathematics Honor Society accepts thirteen new members from U.C.


Front row L to R: Amanda Faulkner, Tina John, Sarah Mullins, Jessica Cox Second Row L to R: Cynthia Kaeser, Lauren Howe, Genna Cummings, Laura Bradford Back row L to R: Brian Bastin, Chris Price, Joshua Ward, Cody Philpot, Bryan Parker

WILLIAMSBURG, Ky. –The Kentucky Beta Chapter initiated thirteen new members at its annual banquet at the Cumberland Inn on February 13. Kathryn DeLozier, chapter president, presided.

New members are the following:

 Brian Russel Bastin of Bethel, Ohio

 Laura Christine Bradford of Holland, Mich.

 Jessica Nicole Cox of Williamsburg

 Genna Marie Cummins of Mount Vernon

 Amanda Lea Faulkner of Barbourville

 Lauren Michelle Howe of Dry Ridge

 Tina Annie John of Louisville

 Cynthia Jeanne Kaeser of Woodstock, Ga.

 Sarah Rebecca Mullins of Hazard

 Bryan Anderson Parker of Frankfort

 Justin Cody Philpot of London

 Christopher Michael Price of Hebron

 Joshua Ray Ward of Soddy Daisy, Tenn.

The Kentucky Beta Chapter of Kappa Mu Epsilon, a national mathematics honor society, was founded in 1993 and is only the second such chapter in Kentucky. To be eligible to be a member of Kappa Mu Epsilon, a student must have completed 3 semesters, must be in the top 3 percent of their college class, must have completed 3 college-level math courses including at least one semester of calculus, and must have an average of B or higher in all math courses.

For the 2008-2009 school year, the Kentucky Beta Chapter elected Teresa Shaffer as president, Dustin Ursrey as vice president, Joshua Ward as secretary, and Andrzej Lenard as treasurer. Dr. John Hymo serves as chapter sponsor, and Dr. Jonathan Ramey serves as corresponding secretary.

Other current student members: Charlotte Abel, Kristina Bishop, Kathryn DeLozier, Rebecca Engle, Joshua Frosch, Zachary Gosser, Deidre Higgins, Andrzej Lenard, Shelly Schnee Scheithauer, Kelly Schnee, Teresa Shaffer, Laurie Anderson Skaggs, John Steely, April Stevens, Sarah Strunk, Dustin Ursrey and Joshua Ward.

University of the Cumberlands, located in Williamsburg, Kentucky, is a private liberal arts college in its 119th year of operation. Cumberlands offers four undergraduate degrees in 37 major fields of study, 30 minors and nine pre-professional programs, graduate degrees and certifications in education as well as online programs.