maincurve UC Library MyUC iLearn Webmail Home
title Media Relations Home



Cumberlands Announced George I. Alden Recipients

WILLIAMSBURG, Ky. - University of the Cumberlands annually presents the George I. Alden Endowed Scholarship to qualifying students in the scientific areas. Jarrod Hampton, Lesley Roberts, Jessica N. Cox, Marie Dennison, Lauren Howe, Jacob Huffman, Cynthia Kaeser, Stephen Tipton were each awarded for their achievements during the Honors Day service held at Cumberlands on April 21.

In 1981, the George I. Alden Trust established the George I. Alden Endowed Scholarship Fund at the then Cumberland College. The income from this fund is to be used to provide one-half tuition scholarships for six students and full tuition scholarships for two students, all of whom must be majoring in the scientific areas. To be eligible to receive one of the two full tuition scholarships, a student must have previously won a one-half scholarship.

The two recipients of full tuition scholarships for the 2008-2009 academic year from the George I. Alden Endowed Scholarship Fund are Jarrod Hampton and Lesley Roberts.

Hampton, of Pineville, Ky., is a junior with a major in biology and a minor in chemistry. He plans to attend graduate school and become a medical doctor.

Roberts, of Connersville, Ind., is a junior biology major with a chemistry minor. She plans to attend medical school after she graduates.

The six winners of one-half tuition scholarship awards for the 2006-2007 academic year from the George I. Alden Trust are: Jessica Cox, a junior from Williamsburg, Ky.; Marie Dennison, a sophomore from Salyersville, Ky.; Lauren Howe, a sophomore from Dry Ridge, Ky.; Jacob Huffman a sophomore from Garrett, Ind.; Cynthia Kaeser, a sophomore from Woodstock, Ga.; Stephen Tipton, a junior from Connersville, Ind.

University of the Cumberlands (formerly Cumberland College), located in Williamsburg, Kentucky, is a private liberal arts college in its 119th year of operation. Cumberlands offers four undergraduate degrees in 37 major fields of study, 30 minors and nine pre-professional programs, as well as online and accelerated, nontraditional programs for adults.