maincurve UC Library MyUC iLearn Webmail Home
title Media Relations Home



Area Students Named Girl's State Officers


From Left to Right: Morgan Floyd, Kelly Sullivan, Ashley Valentine, Karissa Jackson, Casey Moffitt, Lauren Weittenhiller, Megan Medley.

WILLIAMSBURG, Ky.—During this week of June 8-13, high school girls from across the state joined together at University of the Cumberlands for the 63rd annual Girl’s State.

Karissa Jackson (Fort Knox) was elected Governor; Ashley Valentine (Elizabethtown) was selected as Lt. Governor; Lauren Weittenhiller (Lexington) was designated as Secretary of State; Megan Medley (Lexington) was chosen as Attorney General; Casey Moffitt (Fort Campbell) was elected Treasurer; Kelly Sullivan (Louisville) was selected as Auditor; and Morgan Floyd (Elizabethtown) was voted Commissioner of Agriculture.

Following their election, the officers traveled to Frankfort to meet their official counterparts. All of the girls were given the opportunity to listen to speakers from both the state and local governments. In addition to an education in governmental processes, the girls enjoyed several social events as well. They participated in an ice cream social, karaoke night, and a talent show.

Located in Williamsburg, Ky., University of the Cumberlands is an institution of regional distinction, which currently offers four undergraduate degrees in 37 major fields of study; 30 minors; nine pre-professional programs; graduate degrees, including a doctorate and certifications in education; an MBA; and online programs.