Commencement - May 3 & 4

Plan for your visit to campus to celebrate your graduate. All event details are located HERE

Students at University of the Cumberlands recently received honors from the University’s academic departments recognizing students’ excellent performance in their respective fields of study.

“It is our pleasure to congratulate these students on their dedication to their studies as well as the merit of their personal character,” said Dr. Christopher Leskiw, Vice President of Academic Affairs. “We applaud their accomplishments, and we look forward to seeing their continued growth as successful young adults.”

Cumberlands’ 2019 Departmental Students of the Year include:

Ericka AllenOil SpringsKYElementary Education (Online)
Clara ArnoldNew ConcordKYMissions & Ministry
Lyndsey BellPewee ValleyKYP-12 Education
Rachel BertramMonticelloKYEnglish Department
Kendall BrickingFlorenceKYElementary Education
Mikaela CarrollNew MarketTNMiddle School Education
Mary ConnellBremenOHChemistry
Zachary CulverWilliamsburgKYExercise & Sport Science
Cea Jae DykesWinfieldTNFrench (AATF Outstanding Senior)
Michael GarnonWest Pennant HillsAustraliaAccounting
Madison GarrettLawrenceburgKYSpanish
Cole GendersCirclevilleOHMiddle School Education
Kathryn GreenVersaillesKYBusiness Administration
Megan JacksonSeviervilleTNHuman Services, Psychology
Ryan LawsonCorbinKYPolitical Science
Haley MahanWilliamsburgKYExercise & Sport Science
Bryan “Ethan” ManuelStanfordKYCommunication Arts
Mercy MmboshiShelbyvilleKYPublic Health
Steven NovackKingstonTNSecondary Education
Olivia O’MalleyJBSA LacklandTXHistory
Kelsey OsborneWilliamsburgKYSecondary Education
Becka PlittColomaMIPsychology
Tara RoutliffeOntarioCanadaHuman Services
Miles ShermanLondonKYCriminal Justice
Zachary SimbeckRogersvilleALComputer & Information Science
Kayla “Markelle” SmithHeidrickKYBiology
Megan SmitsKnoxvilleTNSpecial Education
Elizabeth StewardLexingtonKYMusic
Dalton WaldenWilliamsburgKYAccounting
Abby WalkerLouisvilleKYMath (Esther A. Compton Award), Physics

Other award/scholarship winners include:

Chelsie ChambersOneidaTNBella Bender-Lipps Award (Art)
Kailee GodinezHighlands RanchCOKenneth & Tessa Nelson Brown Spanish Scholarship
Yu-Chien HuangTainanTaiwanPhyllis Richardson Wood Scholarship (Music)
Chelsea BozemanStrunkKYMavis Broom Scholarship (Education)
Rachel BertramMonticelloKYKDP Scholarship (Education)
Myah FletcherGeorgetownKYChange Maker Award (Human Services), Milton Murphy Missions Service Award (Missions & Ministry)


Many of this year’s award winners are seniors at Cumberlands who will be graduating during the University’s commencement ceremonies on Saturday, May 4. The undergraduate ceremony is set for 10am, with the graduate ceremony beginning at 4pm.