Memorial Day

In observance of the Memorial Day holiday, campus offices will be closed on Friday, May 24, and Monday, May 27.

The mathematics honor society Kappa Mu Epsilon and the physics honor society Sigma Pi Sigma at University of the Cumberlands have initiated new members. Presiding officers were Matthew Prather (senior; Louisville, KY) for Kappa Mu Epsilon and Abby Walker (senior; Louisville, KY) for Sigma Pi Sigma. Prather and Walker are Chapter Presidents of the honor societies.

The Kentucky Beta Chapter of Kappa Mu Epsilon, a national mathematics honor society, was founded in 1993 and is only the second such chapter in Kentucky. To be eligible to be a member of Kappa Mu Epsilon, a student must have completed 3 semesters, must be in the top 35% of their college class, must have completed 3 college-level math courses including at least one semester of calculus, and must have an average of B or higher in all math courses. 

New members of Kappa Mu Epsilon include:

Dylan Troy Hopkins (sophomore; Somerset, KY)
Jaclyn Carol Jewell (senior; London, KY)
Lucas Michael Jones (sophomore; Brodhead, KY)
Luis Montull Pineiro (sophomore; Vigo, Spain)

For the 2019-20 school year, the Kentucky Beta Chapter elected Dylan Hopkins as president, Lucas Jones as vice president, Luis Montull as secretary and Jaclyn Jewell as treasurer.  Dr. Jonathan Ramey serves as chapter sponsor.

Lynsey Short (senior; Lexington, KY) was inducted into Sigma Pi Sigma, the national physics honor society. Chapters are restricted to colleges and universities of recognized standing that offer a strong physics major. Students elected to membership must attain high standards of general scholarship and outstanding achievement in physics. Founded in 1921, the Sigma Pi Sigma is an affiliated society of the American Institute of Physics and the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Sigma Pi Sigma is also a member of the Association of College Honor Societies. The Cumberlands Chapter was installed as the 469th chapter in May 1998.