It’s no secret that University of the Cumberlands has hardworking students. Some students in particular have made their mark on their respective academic departments, winning departmental awards for their achievements in the classroom. Here are the 2023 University of the Cumberlands Departmental Award winners (undergraduate):

Student of the Year – Madalyn Bethany Sutton

Bella Bender-Lipps Award – Rachel Lynn Wade

Student of the Year – Katelyn Aubrey Duvall

Business Administration
Student of the Year – Elliott James Cross

The P.R. Jones Chemistry Outstanding Senior Award – Kathryn (Hunter) Couch

Computer & Information Science
Students of the Year – Sarah Jean Budney, April Lindsay Craig-Flood, Reo Tony Day, Ashley Nicole Lord, Denisha Nrupeshkumar Patel, Sierra Daniel Rhinehart, and Bethany Rogers

Criminal Justice
Student of the Year – Clay William Weaver

Emma MacPherson Senior English Award – Erica LaShay Dick

Students of the Year

IECE Education - Marytodd Gagel

Elementary Education - Emma Kaye Clark

Elementary Education Online - Shawntae Taylor

Middle School Education - Sara Ashley Sellers

Secondary Education - Erica LaShay Dick

P-12 Education - Abby E. Elam

Special Education - Victoria Wheeler

Mavis Broome Scholarship - Mackenzie Mae Powenski

Health, Exercise, and Sport Science
Students of the Year

Coaching - Josh Paul Sean Simon

Exercise and Sport Science - Daniela Lenor Hechavarria Ramirez and Rylan Todd Reed

Fitness and Sport Management - Jesse Logan Kirby

Public Health - Austin Dwayne Franco

Student of the Year – Mickayla Anna McCoig

Human Services
Student of the Year – Shannon Renee Dillow

Missions and Ministry
Student of the Year - Lydia Abigail Dingus

Milton Murphey Missions Service Award - Robert Kirtley Caldwell

Outstanding Senior Musicians - Caleb Shane Packman and Samual Garrett Woosley

Gwynn Cornell Helping Hand Scholarship - Joshua Eric Gabbard

Harold Wortman Scholarship - Robert Thomas Lewis

Phyllis Richardson Wood Scholarship - Christopher Marq Doughlas Miller

Student of the Year – Bradley James Faulkner

Political Science
Student of the Year – Liberty Rose Poley

Student of the Year – Alexandra Jade Miller

Theatre Arts
Student of the Year – Skyler Jack Jones

World Languages
Outstanding Senior in Spanish – Chloe Adeline Istre

Graduate departmental awards include:

Counseling Department
Doctoral Program

Excellence in Research - Reyna Ciara Smith

Excellence in Advocacy and Service - Kristi White

Excellence in Social Justice - Katharine Grace Heaton

Master’s Program

Outstanding Classroom Performance - Bethany Grace Pastore

Outstanding Practicum/Internship Performance- Samantha Jo Venteicher

Physician Assistant Program  - Florence Campus

Didactic Student Award - Jesse Marie Pitcher

Clinical Student Award - Caroline Lashbrook

Cumberlands Character Award - Lauren Elizabeth Ludwig

Pi Alpha Honor Society - Matthew Dupont, Jason Elmer Martin, Ryan Thomas Morris, and Emily Kail Vasconcelles

Congratulations to all 2023 University of the Cumberlands Departmental Award winners!